Figs!

Better late than never, that’s what I’m going to say. So here we are, very much behind schedule, more herbal medicines!!! This one is by request. Figs.

I’ve heard it said that even if you have to get figs from a fig newton, eat figs every day. So, of course, I researched. What is it about figs that are so special? I realize that fig leaves are made popular by Adam and Eve, who, honestly, probably never wore fig leaves as they tend to cause blistering. I suppose if they did wear fig leaves, they probably never wore them again. However, I digress. It is not the leaves that I am interested in. It is the fruit.

The fig fruit has been used to treat sore throats, tumors, skin problems such as warts and even smallpox, hemorrhoids, kidney stones, toothaches, and much more, mostly in fermented fruit form. It is also worth mentioning that figs have been noted to give a person increased strength, stamina, and vitality.

They are, of course, also a laxative. From what I have heard, figs “clean you out” so well and so wonderfully that it gives your immune system a hardy boost. This makes sense, as once your body is cleansed your body doesn’t have to work quite as hard as it would otherwise.

So, go! Grab yourself a fig newton today and feel better, stronger, and healthier! Though, if you can, it would probably be better for you if you had the fig without the newton.

– Miranda Vivian

5 Comments

  1. Raku said,

    January 10, 2007 at 2:26 pm

    Figs are very important in Italian culture and cuisine, and my mother’s family name is actually derived from the word “fig”, so figs and the fig tree have always had a kind of special meaning for our family. Fig trees grow wild all over Italy, and when I was living there we used to walk up and down our street, gathering them. It’s interesting, many of the plants and herbs that gardeners cultivate here in the states grow wild in Italy (and I assume in other parts of Europe), and while I was over there I realized how these plants became important parts of the culture, and how little the immigrant cultures in the U.S. incorporated its native plants into their culture (though some did).

  2. Aftermath said,

    January 10, 2007 at 7:43 pm

    I find it interesting that for most of the U.S. a plant is just a plant. People spend a lot of money landscaping their yards to make them “beautiful” and at the same time buy groceries, some of which could have been collected right in their back yard, such as onions or salad greens.

    – Miranda Vivian

  3. Urban Scout said,

    March 11, 2007 at 1:24 am

    Miranda,

    Could you add this to the field guide wiki at rewild.info?

    Scout

  4. Vicky said,

    April 30, 2007 at 9:52 am

    Great article! I’m thinking of doing a permaculture guild with figs. Any recommendations on what to plant with it? Thanks-in-advance :)

  5. Aftermath said,

    May 15, 2007 at 10:12 am

    Good question. I’ve heard that comfrey does well when planted by a fig tree, and that fig trees do well when planted near comfrey. I also believe that pomegranates do well around figs.
    Beyond that, I’m not quite sure, though I will do some research on it.

    – Miranda Vivian


Leave a Reply

